Dear Grandma

5 Nov

Dear Grandma,

Happy would be 98th birthday!

I have no doubt you, Grandpa and Aunt Patricia are having a ball up in Heaven. I’m sure the angels are enjoying you serenading them with your amazing piano skills and I’m willing to bet Jesus is a big fan of your amazing chocolate chip cookies. I know I was.

I miss you like I can’t even describe. I know you’re in a much better place and feeling so much better now. But? Selfishly, I wish you were here for this season of my life.

I really wish you could have met B before the strokes took away your memory and sparkling personality.

I wish you were still alive to see me get married.

I wish you could see the joy on your daughter’s face when she talks about becoming a Grandma.

I wish I could take advantage of your years as a nurse and your knowledge and experience as a mother of seven.

Mostly, I wish you were here to meet my son. He isn’t even here yet and he’s already the most important and amazing thing I’ve ever done in my life.

I can only imagine the smile on your face, and mine, when you meet and hold Nugget for the first time. It breaks my heart you won’t ever meet him and be a part of his life.

Even though you’re not longer here with us on earth, you live on in our hearts and memories and I know you’re looking down on us from heaven.

I miss you. And your chocolate chip cookies.

I love you.

A bushel and a peck and a hug around the neck.

Love,

Shugah

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

