Po Dunk, Pregnancy, Procrastination and Picoult

2 Nov

I have a bit of a tendency to wait until the last minute to do things. I genuinely work better and more productively under the gun.

I learned this week again that something are best taken care of sooner rather than later.

Like registering for parenting classes. 

To be perfectly honest, the classes were first brought to my attention at my very first OB appointment at 6 weeks. At that point, no one other than parents and sibs knew I was pregnant. It wasn’t until after the 12 week ultrasound when B and I heard Nugget’s heartbeat and saw our baby that we told our extended family and friends.

I didn’t want to register for any kind of classes until Nugget reached viability. I didn’t want to jinx anything.

Then life, pregnancy complications and an intestinal parasite  got in the way and I was genuinely focusing on not crapping my pants several times a day. And worried about the health of my son.

At my last OB appointment I was asked if I’d registered for one of the classes yet.

Of course not.

Softball season was just about over. There was no way I was going to get B to agree to go to while he was playing softball 3 nights a week. Nor did I particularly want to have another weekly commitment.

And football season is in full swing. This Momma ain’t no fool. I know better than to foolishly suggest we spend an entire Saturday at a parenting class. Especially when Daddy’s Notre Dame Irish are undefeated! Manti Teo for Heisman!

The very last softball tournament of the season was last weekend so I looked into classes.

Every single class from now until January is full. I will be more than a little upset if I’m still pregnant in January.

I managed to find an opening for a tour of the birthing center the week before my due date.

I’m on waiting lists for more than a few classes, but I’m basically ass out. I put out an SOS on facebook and asked what books/blogs/etc people found helpful and would recommend to a terrified first time parent on childbirth and breastfeeding. I bookmarked the **blogs,** wrote down the books and headed to the library to checkout the recommended books.

Our local branch didn’t have a single suggested book. Seriously, not even What to Expect When You’re Expecting. There are several books on potty training, parenting unruly teens and even books for expecting teens, but nothing like what I was looking for. I was really surprised. It’s not like I live in an extremely rural area. I could drive the extra 10-15 minutes to go to the downtown branch and see if there is a actual larger selection there. But come on. How do they not have What to Expect When You’re Expecting?!

I left with one book for first time parents on pregnancy and birth.

And some just for fun books. Seriously, I’m kind of over sitting at home day after day. 

Including a couple of my favorite Jodi Picoult books and the newest one I haven’t yet read, Sing You Home. Based on the jacket cover summary I wasn’t prepared for what the first 50 pages held and had to stop reading. Not that this isn’t going to be a fabulous book, I’m just not emotionally or mentally in the right place to read it at the moment, but I do plan on reading it at some point. I love Jodi Picoult’s books! She’s fabulous. 

Seriously, if you haven’t read any of her work you are missing out! 

Moral of the story? Do. Not. wait until the last minute to look into registering for parenting classes, don’t go to a small-ish library, go read Jodi Picoult.

**Amy’s blog was recommended to me based on a (fabulous!) series of posts and guests posts on reader questions and things/tips/tricks Moms wished had been shared with them . And? Amy battles with infertility. She’s a fabulous read no matter where you are on your infertility journey.**

What books or blogs have you or friends found to be really good and would recommend?

 

One Response to “Po Dunk, Pregnancy, Procrastination and Picoult”

  1. cysterworld November 8, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Don’t feel bad – I never even went to parenting classes. The great thing is that there’s a wealth of information online. Between parenting forums, kidshealth.gov, Dr. Sears site, and livestong.com trust me – there’s no shortage of tips and tricks.

Leave a Reply

