Turtle vs Taco

10 Jul

image

4/9/12 4 weeks 2 days. Two days after I found out I was pregnant. Please pardon my extremely dirty bathroom mirror.

image

6/15/12 14 weeks 2 days I need to learn to make better faces in self portraits…or learn to crop. 🙂

image

6/20/12 15 weeks And we have bumpage!

image

7/2/12 16 weeks 5 days I really need to branch out in doing my hair. If Nugget is a girl the poor thing is in a world of trouble.

Today marks 18 weeks and 2 days pregnant. I officially cannot see my feet. Not that I could see my feet past my chesticles before, but now I see belly instead of boobs. 

In TWELVE days B and I find out the gender of our child. The first thought that comes to mind when I think 12 days is holy balls, but so far the overwhelming guesses have been toward girl. Ideally my parents and sisters along with B’s parents, brothers and wives would all meet somewhere after The Appointment and we could tell our family together turtle vs taco all at the same time.

One of the many blessings (?) to having both our families in the same general area. I’m afraid I know if we don’t tell everyone all together someone is going to end upset and with hurt feelings. Though I will admit to having more than a little anxiety about the explosive/drama/awkward potential to some of my family members being in the same place at the same time. But, that’s their issue not mine and if they don’t like it they don’t have to come. So there.

  This way the grandparents, aunts and uncles don’t find out in an impersonal facebook post or generic mass text. Not that there’s anything wrong with those kinds of announcements, but I really want to see people’s reactions.

And I won’t be able to keep my big fat mouth shut. Admitting you have a problem is the first step…

I’m in need of some fun party ideas on how to share the news. How would you let family know or what awesome ways have you seen it shared?

One Response to “Turtle vs Taco”

  1. Sarah July 16, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    I saw a news story where people gather their loved ones and then cut into a cake that is colored either pink or blue. With the frosting, you can’t see the color of the cake until you slice it for the first time. Sometimes the parents even have the tech write down the gender on paper and take it to the bakery sealed. This way, mom and dad find out when everyone else does. Of course, this requires you to wait another couple days while the bakery prepares your cake.

    Other ideas that come to mind:
    ~pick up some cheesy carnations in pink or blue
    ~those baby cigars in the right color
    ~make copies of ultra sound photos — one with gender identified, the others without, then pass them out randomly to guests and let everyone open and see who has the one with the gender identified and wait for him/her to blurt it out

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

