#Mamavation Mondays

25 Sep

There are moments where the weekly focus of  Mamavation is spot. on.

This would not be one of those weeks.

I don’t camp.

Definitely NOT our family camping.

When camping, I turn into a small child.

I don’t do nature.

There’s a running family joke about me being somewhere in nature and screaming stating that I. Hate. Nature!

I really don’t do nature. I like having my creature comforts. Electricity, shower, toilet paper, a bed.

Camping was what we did for our family vacations.

I think I was 14-ish when we went on The Big Vacation.

My parents, my three sisters and I drove from Michigan to Washington.

Let’s do the math…

One man 

Not our van, but not an exaggeration.

One mom

FOUR daughters

ONE tent

One van.

3.5 weeks

All. Together.

The drive back to Michigan from Washington was just my dad and his girls. Dad did all the driving. Dad made all the camping reservations.

Meaning we drove allllllllll day long, setting up camp in the dark. Electricity was a rarity. Almost as rare as toilets with a door…or that flushed.

I’ve been scarred for life.

I don’t do nature.

Question: Where are you planning for your feet to take you before 2011 ends? Any races or training plans?

I don’t have any plans other than to have my feet moving.

This is the time of year where I start adding my layers of inner insulation. On top of last year’s insulation… First comes Halloween and all the left over candy which just so happens to run out around Thanksgiving. Then there’s the birthday cake. And Christmas parties. And B’s birthday. And family Christmas parties. And eating my feelings from family Christmas parties. It’s a viscous, viscous cycle.

Putting one foot in front of the other and keep moving is my only plan.  I can’t let life get the better of me. I’ve got to make and keep getting moving a priority this time of year!

*****

I CANNOT believe I almost forgot!

The Two Week Challenge recap!

As much as it hurt and I said some not so nice things in my head, I got some serious results! And of course I can’t find where I put the numbers, but I lost inches! Once I find where my scatter brained self put the numbers, I’ll post.

Sign me up for the next one!

 

This post is sponsored by Omron Fitnessand I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women

25 Responses to “#Mamavation Mondays”

  1. Rachel September 25, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    YAY so proud of you & your challenge results! 🙂

    p.s i am only a phone call, text or tweet away before, during & after those parties!

    • smallworldbiggirl September 25, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      Hahahahahahahahaha!!!!! And thank goodness for that! Laughing with you will burn most of those party calories. 🙂

  2. Megan @mnmspecial September 25, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I’ve got an idea…how about no Halloween candy? Turn off your lights or buy pencils to hand out, haha. Only one slice or treat a week. You can do it sweetie!

    • smallworldbiggirl September 25, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      Ha! We tried no Halloween candy last year and our house got TP’ed!

  3. Heather @ Not a DIY Life September 25, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Read the ingredients on that Halloween candy before eating it. That turns me away every time! Hang in there, and yes! Keep moving!

  4. Nicole September 25, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Ha, ha. LOVED this post. Brought back memories of camping with my family. Lol.

    • smallworldbiggirl September 25, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      Haha, at least I can kinda laugh about it now…10+ years later. 🙂 Still can’t camp though! 🙂

  5. Kimberly christlikemommy September 25, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Yea, I am not a camper… Dh asked me the other night if I would consider going camping… No, I wouldnt. lol

    • smallworldbiggirl September 25, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      My SIL asked me if I’d want to go camping. To keep family peace I *almost* said yes…then I remembered walking into the family campsite in Yellowstone and watching a bear just mosey on through. NO THANK YOU!!!!!

  6. lena - elenka29 September 26, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    So cool that you did 2 week challenge. And I smiled reading about you and nature.
    Have a great week

  7. Shannon (Aries_Mommy) September 26, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Great job with the 2 week challenge!!! As for the Halloween candy, see if there is a dentist in your area that will buy it! They send it over sees to troops. Now for the parties, the only recommendation I have is to bring a healthy dish with you. Good luck with the next challenge and have a great week.

    • Lo September 26, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      Oh my gosh, what a FABULOUS idea!
      I’d totally bring a healthy dish, but I burn ice…. 🙂

  8. colleen September 26, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Good luck not grabbing any of the holiday goodies….or at least keep moving like you did with the two week challenge. I am joining it this time around and hoping that if I am working that hard that I will not want to ruin it by eating crap.

    • Lo September 26, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      It’s amazing how the 2 week challenge changed my eating habits! Everything I thought about eating, I wondered how many jump squats or burpees to burn. Made me make some different decisions! 🙂

  9. Jenn of PersonalFitCoach.com September 26, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog to share the love. I can so relate to this post. I’m not a big camper either. That’s why I focused on the questions of the week instead of the Twitter party topic. LOL!

    • Lo September 26, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      I am NOT at alllllllllllllllllll a camper! Glad to know I’m not alone! 🙂

  10. Amanda September 26, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Somebody – I think Heather- tweeted a link of all that is in candy corn- it’ll change your mind forever, for serious!
    I’m excited to hear about your 2weekchallenge losses- sounds awesome!

  11. Andrea Emilien (@AndreaEmilien) September 26, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Your post cracked me up! I’m not a huge tent camper either although I will do it. That is what they make cabins for, right??

    Congrats on the inches lost during the challenge! I also lost inches. Really looking forward to the next one too. 🙂

    Have a good week!

  12. lorrie September 27, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    good luck with your goals this week

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coleman Evanston 6 Screened Tent - September 26, 2011

    […] Lands CAMPING book review – A Mom With A Lesson PlanA Mom With A Lesson PlanGeek with Kids#Mamavation Mondays.broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; } var analyticsFileTypes = ['']; var […]

  2. Swiss Gear Elite Series 12 Person Huge Family Dome Camping Tent Reviews - September 26, 2011

    […] holidays with childrenCamps Provide Alternative Lodging on Maine Public Reserved Lands #Mamavation Mondays.broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; } var analyticsFileTypes = ['']; var […]

  3. Your Questions About Family Camping Tents | TWO PERSON TENTS - September 28, 2011

    […] Powered by Yahoo! Answers Tweet Mouse here for Related Links#Mamavation Mondays […]

  4. Saving in SecretTwitter Party, Healthy Living! - January 9, 2012

    […] #Mamavation Mondays (smallworldbiggirl.wordpress.com) Categories: Uncategorized Previous post: Cheap Diapers? Leave a Comment […]

Leave a Reply

