#Mamavation Monday

11 Sep

Man, it’s good to be back! I honestly don’t know how long it’s been since I posted a Mamavation Monday post.

Last week the holiday really threw me. I had no idea what day of the week it was and totally spaced. My bad.

The weeks before I was dealing with some serious emotional upheaval in my life. I don’t really want to talk about it, but I’m on my way to okay. Promise. As is was my habit, I ate my feelings. And gained a few pounds back. Dirty words…

BUT!

I’m making some healthier decisions for myself. I’m coming out of the funk and I’m getting back to kicking ass and taking names. I’m focusing on portions sizes what what I’m eating portions of and water intake. When it comes to water I’m an all or nothing kind of girl. I really need to curb my pop drinking.

The part I love to hate of my becoming human again is taking part in the Mamavation Two Week Challenge.

Oh, holy night. I don’t know if I’ve ever been this sore in my life.

But I’m loving it!

It hurts and it’s difficult, but I’m doing it! Maybe I’m a masochist, but oh baby..it does hurt so good. 

Most impressive to me is that I’m sticking with it. Having the accountability of daily report ins and the step by step layout of the workouts is HUGE!

Question: When was the last time you got new workout shoes?  What do you use them for?

I honestly don’t remember the last time I bought new workout shoes. Though I do remember the extreme sticker shock… It’s been at least a few years. I’m almost positive I’ve had the same pair of workout shoes longer that I’ve known B.

No, I didn't take a nekkid pic. I have shorts on. 🙂

They’re still in really, really good condition.

Because I never used them until I wrote the post that changed my life.

And it took me a while to psych myself up into using the treadmill.

And  little while longer to become a regular user. *Insert very sheepish look here* 

These Asics are amazeballs. Gel inserts, super cushion-y sole, no pinching anywhere- ever, no blisters. A serious shoe-gasm.

While these shoes are fabulous, I’m thinking of having my gait analyzed at one of the local running stores and buying myself an ungodly expensive pair of running shoes once I’m employed again. I don’t know if it’s the shoes, how I run, an old injury, or what but I get some really bad lower back pain some days after running. I should probably look into that, eh?

I also have a pair of Reebok Easy Tones that I wear EVERYWHERE.  I LOVE these shoes. They’re number 2 on the list of most comfortable tennis shoes I’ve ever worn. Another serious shoe-gasm. For. Reals.

Have an awesome week, Sistas and I promise to try and get back in the swing of posting!

Muah!

 

 

This post is sponsored by Attune Foodsand I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women

20 Responses to “#Mamavation Monday”

  1. @AndreaEmilien September 11, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Hi! Just realized that you are you (we both belong to Kaizen). I’ve lurked in your journal quite a few times so it’s time I outed myself. 🙂

    I am doing the 2 week challenge too. We can commiserate together. I agree with you – I’ve never been so sore in my life but I love it!

    • smallworldbiggirl September 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

      Well thanks for stopping by and outing yourself! 🙂

      Seriously, jump squats and burpees are the bane of my existence! Haha.

  2. Amanda September 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I am SO GLAD you’re back. I seriously love reading when you post. 🙂
    Good luck with the ass kicking this week, hun!

    • smallworldbiggirl September 11, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

      Aw, shucks… you’re making me blush. 🙂

      Thanks and good luck to you too! 🙂

  3. Megan @mnmspecial September 12, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    Shoe-gasm…I love that! I could gave sworn you posted 2 weeks ago btw. Sorry you had an awful time. Big hugs! I love the hurt too. Love that you think we are thinking your naked because your picture its knees down, lol! Those are some hot legs though, dang!

    • smallworldbiggirl September 12, 2011 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks! I NEVER would have thought I looked naked in the picture if Brian hadn’t said something about looking naked. Once he said it, I could not get it out of my head. Ugh, men! 🙂

  4. Shannon @Aries_Mommy September 12, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Burpees are evil!! Jump squats I actually love. Welcome back!! Very happy to see you are doing the 2 week challenge. Good luck this week and keep looking up!

    • smallworldbiggirl September 12, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      Thanks! You’re a better woman than I for not loathing jump squats. 🙂

  5. Lena - @elenka29 September 12, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Happy to have you back and kicking!!! Totally kicking. And love those Reeboks

    • smallworldbiggirl September 12, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂 There really are some of the most comfortable shoes I’ve ever worn.

  6. tlpunlimited September 12, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    WAY TO GO on loving the 2 week challenge! IT does hurt so good. lol…

    It’s the little steps like portion control etc that really helped me! So I hope it works as well for you.I didn’t realize how much your mind plays a role in weight, until I started using a salad plate instead of a 10″ plate to eat on.

    Here’s to a highly successful week!

    • smallworldbiggirl September 14, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      I do the same thing with plates. It’s amazing that I can eat less food and be comfortable instead of feeling stuffed to the gills. Who knew?! 🙂

  7. Katrina - @craftsbykatie September 12, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Welcome back, beautiful! I’m so glad to see you post and umm…umm…dang my poor tired brain! I love you and I think we need to get together again soon. 😉

  8. @thebabysteppers Anjanette September 13, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    It’s funny huh. If it don’t hurt it doesn’t feel like it is working.

    I am glad your shaking the funk, your off to the right start.

    • smallworldbiggirl September 14, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      You are SO right! If I don’t break a sweat I don’t feel like I’m exercising. If I don’t hurt the next day, I don’t feel like I worked out enough. It’s crazy what kind of tricks our minds can play with us.

  9. lorrie September 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    awesome welcome back to mamavation i like the shoes good luck with our goals

  10. Julie (@dutchbeingme) September 14, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I love my shoes — I just can’t bring myself to buy another pair (even though I really do need them). You are so right about the sticker shock (!!!) but it’s so important to take care of yourself too. Oh the give and take. 🙂

    • smallworldbiggirl September 15, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      I’ve started taking what I used to spend on fast food and putting it in a shoe fund. Still doesn’t mean they aren’t expensive as all get out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

