That Dang Facebook Thing

2 Sep

Subtitled as that post where I get up on my soap box and get a little angry. And post Five Finger Fridays later. This post is another installment of  Sarcastic Thumbs Up

 

 

It’s September.

Also known as Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

Which I totally support.

I have an aunt who kicked breast cancer’s ass. I know more than a few people who have had breast cancer scares.

Cancer sucks. There are no ifs, ands, or buts about it. Cancer sucks.

But this facebook thing-a-ma-jig where women are posting that they are X number of months along and craving X as their status isn’t raising my awareness of breast cancer.

It’s raising my dang blood pressure.

As an Infertile, I. Am. Pissed.

As someone who can’t get and stay pregnant, I hurt.

I know that my struggles with infertility aren’t exactly common knowledge on my facebook page, but that doesn’t mean pretend pregnancy proclamations are things I want to see.

I have zero delusions that my feelings would stop any of these statuses (statusi???) from people posted if my infertility was posted all over.

I’m well aware that I can remove these status updates from my news feed.

I’m aware that I may be more that a little sensitive.

A lot of people don’t realize that the proclamations of pregnancy and cravings aren’t announcements and part of a facebook meme. More than a few people have commented in astonishment at post-menopausal pregnancy statuses.

I also noticed not a single person I know who is struggling with infertility posted one of these statuses.

I understand the right to say whatever you want on your facebook page.

Momma always said, think before you speak.

All I’m asking is that you be aware of what you’re saying and who may be reading it.

Think before you post.

Please.

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “That Dang Facebook Thing”

  1. Crys24 September 2, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Well said!

  2. Tracy September 3, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Word, sister. Word.

  3. Shelley Oswald (@Momma_oz) September 7, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    if it matters, I have received several emails via facebook “instructing” me to post as such… I agree it is insensitive and have chosen to refrain. While I may not be an infertile, I respect that so many near and dear to me are and this just seems to be a “all in good fun” idea gone awry… Preach on Sista Preach on….

  4. jenhasapen September 10, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I’m infertile, but more than that, what does/did it have to do with breast cancer awareness? As my homegirl, Oprah Winfrey always says, “When you know better, you do better.” Hopefully your post will teach better to know better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

