Two Years, Seven Months and One Day Ago…

12 Jul

Yesterday was my second anniversary. Two years and one day of mostly awesome wedded bliss.

Let’s face it. If your marriage doesn’t have some bumps and hiccups you’re either the exception to every. other. marriage. or you’re kidding yourself. Okay, rant over.

It looks like a sweet kiss, but look again. It's a STRAWBERRY!

Our wedding was a lot of fun. There were a lot of high points Hello, I was getting married! The primping and massage wasn’t too bad either.

And some low points that I can laugh about now. Like none of the wedding party having words to the song we sang.

And moments that were hilarious when they happened. Like B stepping on my train and coming thiiiiiiiiis close to flashing everyone. I was quite glad I had the top taken in a bit. Back boobs be damned!

One of the most memorable days of my life would never have happened if it weren’t for one day exactly seven months prior. Another day one of my favorite days. Also filled the drama, tragedy, tears and laughter. I wrote it down so I’d never forget some of the small things.

*****

Brian and I first met last year when I came home from school for Christmas break and returned to my job as a server at Main Street Pub. He works with a lot of the regulars that I had gotten to know really well in the three years I worked there. It was just a fun night of hanging out with a whole bunch of people. I didn’t really think anything of it.

To be perfectly honest, I kinda forgot about it until I came home for the summer. Ferris State was fun, but it was a little too much fun and I decided not to go back in the fall of 08. I was home and working again at the pub.

One day I had worked lunch and part of the dinner shift and I was just fed up. I’d had a long day and sick of dealing with people. Brian was in the pub with some of his friends from work that I knew pretty well, so they invited me to sit down and have a drink with them, so I did. Brian and I had really easy conversation and kept talking all night. Eventually everyone else left and it was just the two of us. Brian was giving me a hard time because he was quoting movies with people all night and I didn’t know what any of them were because I hadn’t seen any of them. He told me he was going to have to educate me said we’d have to watch a movie and hang out sometime. I didn’t think he was really going to follow through and that we’d never really hang out, but that I’d see him at the pub once in a while. He did call me a few days later, we watched a movie and hung out and the rest is history.
Brian and I have really different work schedules, so we don’t really get to spend a lot of time together during the week. I was working on Tuesday and he told me that he was going back home to St. Joe to go shopping with his mom and to see his best friend who was in town from Georgia for a few days. I didn’t think anything of it. He calls me later Tuesday night and tells me not to make any plans for Saturday night because we were going out to dinner. I didn’t even give it a second thought.
Thursday he and I talked and he told me to call him when I was done working and to come over to his apartment. I thought that was really weird because I’m done working at 10pm and not home until almost 10.30pm and Brian goes to bed before that because he works at 6am.

I called him when I was on my way home and stopped by his apartment.

Nothing was really out of the ordinary…he was sitting on the couch watching tv, but all the lights were out except for the Christmas tree and that was the first time I’d seen the tree lit. (The Christmas tree has been sitting in his living room longer than I’ve been around) I sat down and we were just kind of sitting there. He then launches into a big speech about how he hasn’t been sleeping well because he’s got a lot on his mind. He’d been thinking about his life and everything he’s gone through and different choices he could have made and that he needs to make some changes in his life.

Me being me, I start to panic. He’d called me and told me to stop by long after he’s normally asleep, he reflecting on the past and is needed to make changes in his life…I thought I was getting dumped.

I didn’t really say anything because if he was going to break up with me, I was not going to make it easy for him.

After a few minutes of awkward silence he tells me that he wants to give me a Christmas present early. He said he was going to give it to me on Christmas, then he wanted to give it to me Saturday, which is why he said not to make any plans and that we were going to go out, and that he really really wanted to give it to me tonight.

I was really confused, but said that was fine. He hands me a jewelry box that he had stuffed in the crack of the couch.

I thought he was giving me earrings until I opened it up and saw a diamond ring. I’m soooooooooooooo excited!!!!! July can’t get here soon enough!

*****

That was two years, seven months and one day ago.

I can’t wait to see what the next two years, seven months, one day and beyond hold!

2 Responses to “Two Years, Seven Months and One Day Ago…”

  1. Pamela Gold July 13, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    This picture? Gorgeous. The story? Like a little fairytale in your heart. LOVE!

Leave a Reply

