#Mamavation Monday

12 Jun

How often do you and your family eat meals together and get active together?

B, my mom, my four sisters and I attended a wedding last night. The reception was a family style dinner and it was awesome! We got to pick from several different things and had great food and conversation. I kind of felt bad for the two random people who got stuck with us.ย 

Growing up, we ate dinner together every night. Without fail. All six of us.

I didn’t appreciate it then, but I do now.

Now B and I eat whatever is easy to make in front of the tv. We have a beautiful dining room table and I can count on one hand the number of times we’ve eaten there.

I was active in high school. I played indoor and outdoor soccer up until I graduated. Now, not so much. B plays softball during the summer and basketball over the winter. And there is NO way I’d suggest co-ed softball. B is waaaaaaaay too competitive for my taste.ย 

I use my treadmill a few times a week, but we’re not active together. Well, we are, but I’m not going there. ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

B’s competitive streak isn’t the only thing that keeps us from being active together.

I’m embarrassed by my lack of stamina and physical abilities.ย 

Being fat holds me back from a lot of things. ย B would never make fun of me for my lack of abilities, but I’m still afraid to do things in front of him. When I work out, I prefer to do it when I’m home alone. If B is home, I have to shut the door and I’m not entirely comfortable working out. I really don’t want my husband to see we huffing and puffing and sweating like a whore in church. Not attractive.

This post is sponsored byย Together Countsย and Iโ€™m writing this to be entered into a Qlip Any-where Pedometer giveaway hosted by Mamavationย .

22 Responses to “#Mamavation Monday”

  1. Rachel June 12, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    First of all I know B & I know that he loves you … every amazing thing about you! You & I both used to be so active in high school … and now are being held back. One thing I do know though is that we will get our sexy back, we will not be the huffing and puffing “old” ladies.

    I was watching extreme make over weight loss last night, a 24 year old who was almost 500 lb.’s was able to go for runs, granted they were not long runs, but he did it. It was the motivation & reality check that I needed to know that I CAN go for runs and everyone has to start somewhere.

    You may be huffing & puffing now, but soon you will be doing it without any trouble! Don’t give up!! You can do it! I know you can!!

    Love you long time bestie! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • smallworldbiggirl June 12, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      I think we should work out or go on walks when you’re in The Zoo…

  2. Nicole June 12, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    It’s so easy to eat in front of the TV, especially after a long day. Trust me, my hubby and I struggle with that too!

    • smallworldbiggirl June 12, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      It seems so pointless for just the two of us to eat at the table together. Plus the kitchen table is our catch all for our junk. I should really be more organized. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Megan @mnmspecial June 12, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    oh heaven sakes you & Rachel are both attractive women! You may not have the same body build, but its still there.

    I’m like you. I don’t want my hubby seeing me work out or be physical. I know my hubby loves me, but its all in my mind. Its hard to change our habits. We also did a lot of tv eating before we had kids. Now I only allow food in the kitchen/dining area because of cleaning purposes. It will come to you.

    Big hugs cutie pie!

    • smallworldbiggirl June 12, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

      Lol, Rachel and I have VERY similar builds.

      I hate working out where B can see me. I have to work so hard to lose weight and he loses it without even trying! (jerk!) : )

      We’re snackers while we eat TV. Eating meals in the living room keeps our mess contained. It’s something I’m really working on changing.

      Thanks for the hugs. They’re very much appreciated. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Flower Chica June 12, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Don’t let your weight hold you back from working out. I started running when I was overweight and I too had a complex about the skinny bouncy women I’d see on the trails. That lasted all of 3 months when I started being able to run further and faster than them. Embrace the exercise, enjoy the endorphins, and screw anyone who has anything negative to say. Working out is all about you and how you feel. Nothing else matters.

    • smallworldbiggirl June 12, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      You’re so right. There are so many positives to working out. I need to stop being such an ass to myself and get over it. Way easier said than done, but I can and will do it!

  5. Jenn of PersonalFitCoach.com June 13, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    I struggle with eating in front of the TV too. Don’t be too hard on yourself. You are doing this amazing thing to get healthier. Praise yourself for every step in the right direction. Use that Freeze Dance idea I mentioned for family fun fitness too. Have a great week ahead.

    • smallworldbiggirl June 13, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      It’s so much easier for me to focus on my negatives than my positives. I’m finding it easier for me to see those positives with all the support.
      Thanks for helping! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. MrsFatass June 13, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    You know, we eat dinner in front of the TV. All four of us. We all sit on the floor around our coffee table and eat family-style while watching something on TV together. It works for us. It’s fun time together. We still laugh and talk and share about our days. While we watch some sitcom rerun or sporting event or show. It doesn’t have to be a bad thing to do that.

    I also hate my husband seeing me struggle to have his stamina. I get so self conscious!

    • smallworldbiggirl June 13, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      That’s a great idea!
      We tend to eat one meal that lasts all.day.long in front of the tv. We’re so focused on the tv and the computer that we don’t really talk.
      I’m thinking a set place for me to eat would help with my constant, mindless snacking.

  7. Kimberly @christlikemommy June 13, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    I get it!! I am so embarrassed that I cant really run like I want to because my fat goes one way while I’m trying to go the other. I don’t like working out in front of my hubby but when I do (sometimes) he is really encouraging and helps me push harder than I would have alone! I hope you have a great week and thanks for the encouragement on my blog post!

    • smallworldbiggirl June 13, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

      Oh my word. I KNOW that feeling!
      Of course! And thank you for the love here. You’re pretty inspirational to me.

  8. Lena June 13, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Today is the first day of the rest of your life. That is what I tell myself and it is working. Have a great week

    • smallworldbiggirl June 13, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      It sure is working… you are one HAWT MOMMA! Thanks for the support, Lena! It means the world. โค

  9. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom) June 13, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Okay, I also hate “working out” in front of my hubby… like the DVD workouts and all, but we do enjoy activities together. We used to rock climb & have a tandem bike. We are getting back to the walks, hikes and rides. Next up will be the rock climbing! Have a great week.

    • smallworldbiggirl June 14, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Those sound like awesome date night-ish things to do together. Now if I could just get B away from the tv and ESPN we’d be golden! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I don’t know if I could do the rock climbing. I have a pretty healthy fear of heights. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great week, too!

  10. Amanda June 13, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    I’ve had a hard time with the same issues. I still do, sometimes.
    A lot of it is in your mind though- it’s how you see yourself. What you choose to believe.
    You’re hot, Lo. And beautiful. You’ve got this.
    Take it one day at at time. One foot in front of the other.

    • smallworldbiggirl June 14, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      Thanks, Amanda! Takes one beautiful, hot woman to recognize another! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. kia June 14, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    I get self-conscious about breathing hard when running around people. It has only been in the last two years that I notice my husband is breathing harder than me when we are starting out on runs together. HA! I am a lot less silly about that topic now. He does find it hot when I sweat though but he is not big on working out himself.

    • smallworldbiggirl June 14, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

      B isn’t too much into working out either. One of these days I’ll suggest working out together and totally blow him away! Thanks, Kia. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

