#Mamavation Mondays

14 May

I’ve reached a few SIGNIFICANT milestones in my weight loss journey this week.

This week I’ve worn shorts.

In public.

Multiple times.

I haven’t worn shorts outside of the comforts of my own home since 8th grade.

ELEVEN YEARS AGO.

Yeah, it’s been THAT long.

I haven’t had the confidence in myself to wear shorts. Even when I wore them at home or mowing the lawn I was constantly fiddling with them.

I wasn’t comfortable. My legs were too short and thick. My thighs are too chunky, too jiggly. Damn you chub rub!  My calves looked too big. I do have some SERIOUSLY muscular calves. Of course Hubster has these skinny little bird legs that go on for miles. Ass. But for some reason it works. I’m jealous of his long, lean legs and he’s jealous of my muscular, defined calves. I’ll take it!

It’s been hot in the mitten this week. Like in the 80s humid, sticky, just get out of the shower and feel like you need to get back in, my hair is a GIIIIIIIIIIIIANT frizz ball kind of hot. I bet that visual put you in the mood…  Hot enough where I felt the need to wear shorts. I don’t own any; I had to borrow a pair from my sister.

I button and zipped the shorts, took a deep breath, walked into the hallway and took a look in the full length mirror.

And hawt daym if my legs didn’t look smokin’! Uh huh,  hawt daaaaaym.

My calves are still rock hard muscle, but my thighs are slimming down and toning up. Somehow my thighs being smaller makes my calves look smaller. I don’t know how it works, but it does. I’ll take it! I felt/feel so good about myself that I’m planning on rocking the shorts a lot this summer.

I can’t wear shorts at work. The little old lady I’m working with who reminds me of the Grandma from Beverly Hillbillies keeps her apartment at a tropical 85,000 degrees. My only option other than sweating to death is to wear the capris I’ve had for a few years and struggled to button and zip last year.

Friday I pulled a pair out of the drawer they had been banish to, took a deep cleansing breath and pulled them up. Pulled not shimmied into…a good sign. Button and zipped with the pants with ease! and took a few steps back to take a look in the mirror.

I was totally shocked by what I saw.

I had a flat ass. My butt is toned, firm and round. I have a nice ass. If I do say so myself…! The same pair of pants I dreaded putting on last year hang low on hips and make me look like I have a flat saggy ass.

Not okay.

There are few things I’m proud of on my body and my toned ass and calves are about it. Making these physical attributes look good is not going to work.

I need some summer clothes.

I happened to have a 30% of coupon to one of my favorite clothing stores.

And that means a shopping trip.

ALWAYS a good thing. 

This week’s Mamavation blogging prompt

In your wellness efforts what is the simplest healthy habit that makes you feel most centered after doing it?

I find myself doing a lot of deep, conscious breathing. I have issues with panic attacks. When I feel myself ramping up for one, I take deep, focused breaths. It helps, my breathing slows down, my heart rate comes down, the pounding in my ears fades away and the elephant sitting on my chest starts to go away.

Deep breaths in addition to stretching get me amped up to do just about anything. Hubster makes fun of me, but that’s how I start every morning. And a little extra oxygen before the first cup of coffee is NEVER a bad thing… 

I wrote this blog post while participating in the Mamavation Blogging Carnival for a chance to win a pair of Earth Footwear sandal

16 Responses to “#Mamavation Mondays”

  1. Megan @mnmspecial May 14, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    Dang! Sounds like you are one hot woman! I haven’t worn shorts even longer than you, but you aren’t going to talk me into them any time soon, lol.
    Hope this new found sexiness helps make your move forward even easier to do.
    Keep it up!

    • smallworldbiggirl May 15, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      I was pretty hot yesterday…and I had to turn the heat on today. What the crap?! 🙂
      Hope life and pregnancy are treating you well. 🙂

  2. @klwschmidt May 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Awesome on wearing shorts! Isn’t it wonderful feeling confident enough to wear something you normally wouldn’t wear?

    Have a great week and welcome back! Glad your computer issues are OVER!

    • smallworldbiggirl May 15, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      Thank goodness my bil is a computer genius. I’d be in some serious trouble without him!

  3. Virginia from That Bald Chick May 15, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    YAY for you! I know you felt GOOD, too! It must be a week for milestones, cuz I hit one, as well! Congrats, and keep going!

    • smallworldbiggirl May 15, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      I saw your post! THAT’S SO AWESOME! I’m sooooo excited for you.
      ps- does your husband give lessons in proper gift giving? 🙂

  4. Laila @OnlyLaila May 15, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    I see you Bootyllicious woman! lol. Congrats on your milestone, I know how it feels to not wear something because you aren’t comfortable.

    • smallworldbiggirl May 15, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      I went from con-cave no backside to having a bit of an butt. I worked hard for my itty bitty booty and I want to rock it!
      You keep losing .8lbs a week and you’ll be feeling comfortable (and sexy!) in anything in no time! 🙂

  5. kia May 16, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    Hot dang I love your enthusiasm and confidence for your body in this post. I bet you look good and are struttin’ it.

  6. RebeccaRuns May 16, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    That is so awesome! I’m going to have to go shopping soon too… I have NO shorts that fit (other than the ones I run in). I have 1 pair of capri’s that tie, and they are still falling off of me. It’s an awesome feeling, isn’t it?? Doesn’t it make you want to work harder?

    I have a lot of issues with panic attacks too… sometimes breathing through them helps, and sometimes it doesn’t, but I always try it.

    You’re doing so great – I’m so proud of you!
    (and thanks for putting my button up! 😉 )

  7. Grace May 16, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Good for you! I know that my favorite jeans are now falling off me and it is such a good feeling, except now I have to find a new pair of favorite jeans.

  8. Lena May 16, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Wooot on shorts. I am terrified of even thinking about the idea of shorts. Good luck on this week

  9. Amanda Odair May 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    You wore shorts!!!! I am so proud of you HOT BLOODED WOMEN!!!!!

  10. lorrie May 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    awesome enjoy your time with your shorts and be proud of what youv’e accomplished hugs

  11. gaflygirl2011 May 18, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    yay! doesn’t it feel great to be able to fit into things we couldn’t before? you rock! I am so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

