#Mamavation Mondays

4 Apr

Cover of "The Godfather (Widescreen Editi...

Cover of The Godfather (Widescreen Edition)

It’s been an AWESOME weekend.

B and I made the trek to his hometown to spend time with Momma and Poppa C, various aunts and uncles and Grandpa C for Grandpa’s 86th birthday celebration weekend. It was a ton of fun. B’s side of the family is great. Poppa C is 100% Italian…spending time with them is like being part of The Family, but without all the busting caps in people’s asses, breaking knee caps, thick Jersey accents and jail time. When it comes to this side of the family, if you don’t think anyone is listening to you, talk louder. There’s always lots of good-natured ball busting, laughter with lots and lots of food.

Oh, the food!

After stepping on the scale for the first time in who knows how long, I am down 17 pounds since February!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That was exactly the push I needed to help me make better choices about the quality and quantity of food I ate this weekend.

Saturday when we got to town we had lunch and we ended up having dinner earlier than planned. I wasn’t as hungry as I normally would be for dinner so I ate smaller portions. A completely foreign concept to me until recently. I passed on the brownies and only ate part of a piece of cake. It was okay cake, but my sister works in a Dutch bakery when she’s home. I’ve been completely spoiled and have turned into a bitch of a cake snob…

Sunday morning I went a little nuts and had French toast, but when Momma C offers to make me breakfast, I’m not going to say no! And it was a great bonding time with just us girls while the boys slept in. Steaks for lunch were delish, but the only thing I got seconds of were the fresh beans and steamed broccoli. And I may or may not have had love affair with melon and fresh strawberries all Sunday afternoon…and Saturday night.

I don’t know if the in-laws are preparing healthier food because they want to, know that eating differently is something I’m striving to do Man, how selfish did that sound… or if I’m seeing healthier options and going for those. Really, all that matters is that it’s happening and I’m fueling my body with food, not fluff. I did drink more than a little pop. I’d gone a whole week without drinking ANY and just got swept up and went back to old habits. Oh well, it’s a new week and I can get back on the no pop wagon tomorrow.

It was an excellent weekend.

That  made it all the harder when I my phone rang this morning and it was B coming out of a seizure. He was lost, confused, disoriented and worried about making it to work. He gets so upset with himself when he has a seizure. I can only imagine how it feels to come back to reality and not know what’s going on, but I don’t think it’s something he should beat himself up for. It’s not like he decides today would be a good day for a seizure. I really wish there was something I could do for him. I hate that he feel so helpless. And that I’m helpless to do anything to help him. It’s like jumping into a pool to save a drowning person and realizing I don’t know how to swim as soon as I hit the water. I REALLY wish there was a magic pill that would just take away the seizures. Trust me, B’s tried almost every seizure medication out there, but he just hasn’t found his magic pill.

It’s a new day, week, month. It can only get better from here. Right?

10 Responses to “#Mamavation Mondays”

  1. Homemom3 April 4, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    WOW, Congratulations on your weight loss that is excellent. 🙂 WOO HOO! As for having somewhat of a weekend off I say you deserved it and it sounds like either your inlaws are trying to make a difference in their own eating habits or trying for you, either way that is awesome. 🙂 Keep up the great work.

    • smallworldbiggirl April 6, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks! I figure pigging out on fruits and veggies is way better than other things I could pig out on. 🙂

  2. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom) April 4, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Congrats on your loss! Fabulous.

    Yes, it is good for the soul to enjoy yourself every once in a while. Especially a little home cooking! Always denying yourself will only set you up for failure.

    You are rockin’ it! Keep up the hard work.

    • smallworldbiggirl April 6, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you! And congratulations to you for being a Mamavation Mom!

  3. MrsFatass April 4, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Congrats on your loss AND your outlook! That’s fantastic.

    I wish there was a magic pill for B, too. That stinks.

    • smallworldbiggirl April 6, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Thanks! The attitude and outlook are the hardest for me. It’s so easy to get down on myself for whatever reason, but the results are starting to make that easier.

  4. Erin @wildlifebio April 5, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    Wow, your weight loss is AMAZING lady!! You should be very, very proud. You have obviously made some important lifestyle changes!
    I am so sorry about B. I can only imagine how hard that is on both of you 😦 I really wish there was something that helped! You said he started having seizures from a football injury, right? So scary, and so sad. Big hugs to you all!

    • smallworldbiggirl April 6, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      Thanks! I wasn’t expecting that when I stepped on the scale at all.
      I’ve never known B without seizures so they don’t bother me, but how they affect him does. My understanding is that B had a genetic predisposition for seizures, but the football injury is what started them. If I ever meet the guy who made the dirty football hit, he’s done for!
      Thanks for the hugs. They mean more than words can express.

  5. Nicole April 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Seventeen pounds!?! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

