Milestones

30 Mar

I’m having one of those days where the sun shines brighter, the sky is a more vibrant blue and all is right in the world.

Friends, I am wearing a belt today.

One that hasn’t fit in at least two years. My pants are doing some weird bunching thing because the belt is smaller than the pants, but I’d rather have my pant(ies) in a bunch than my ass hanging out for the world to see.

Yesterday one of my favorite people ever (That means you, Teresa!)  said I looked like I was losing weight, healthier, happier and my dreaded adult acne was all but gone. Totally made my day.

I don’t like what I see in the mirror, so I don’t look. I avoid the mirror like the plague. This morning I put my glasses on without them I can’t see my own hand in front of my face… and took a good hard look at myself in the mirror.

You could have knocked me over with a feather. But please don’t. I am TERRIFIED of birds…

What I saw completely shocked me.

I have the beginning of a waist.

I found my cheek bones.

My collar bones aren’t buried under layers of fat.

I have smaller thighs.

I have little wisps of hair growing in my bald patch.

And I’ll be darned, my skin IS tons clearer.

I was too blinded by how I see myself to recognize the changes in my body everyone else sees.  They might not be happening as quickly as I hope and wish they were, but they’re happening.

I am flab-u-less smothered in awesome sauce with a side of hawt wearing my sassy pants.

You know, in a totally not full of myself kind of way.  🙂

7 Responses to “Milestones”

  1. Pamela March 30, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    That’s the biggest milestone there is. Recognizing your own beauty! I’m so happy for you.

  2. onesunnyside March 31, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    well check you out! I hate that awkward in-between-sizes phase, but it definitely means you’re doing something right!! Congrats 🙂

    • smallworldbiggirl March 31, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      I knew I saved all those smaller pants for a reason! Or I’m just making excuses for my inability to throw anything away… 🙂

  3. Bridget April 2, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    Yay! It’s so exciting to have any progress. I have been eating so horribly lately and I feel like a fat cow. However, I put on a pair of shorts I hadn’t fit in two years and they were too big today! Amazing. Maybe it’s all in my head-no-I know that eating that PB and chocolate chip cake for dinner wasn’t the best, but I have to live a little!!

    Bridget from http://www.bumluxury.blogspot.com

  4. Nicole April 2, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    That is so awesome!! I think that you should look in the mirror EVERY day and notice just how beautiful you are!

Leave a Reply

