Mamavation

27 Mar

Fun runners taking part in the 2006 Bristol Ha...

Image via Wikipedia

Where will your feet take you this year? Any plans for a big hike, race, or just a lot of walking?

It almost scares me how much Mamavation is in my head… 

When I was smaller, healthier, didn’t have watermelons attached to my chest in high school I really enjoyed running. I used to run in the morning before school with one of my neighbors. It was a great way to start off the morning. I was happier, healthier, felt better about myself.

Now, I’m happy-ish, not so healthy and I don’t feel all that great about myself. I think something needs to change. Duh! I’m going to get out of my own damn way and DO something about it. Again, duh!

I’m going to get back to running. I like running.  The mental and physical health benefits of running are huge. And many, many, many, many, thanks to  Hayneedle Bookieboo for choosing my post to win a treadmill.

Enjoyment, beneficial and a treadmill. It’s the perfect storm of exercise!

BUT

I know myself. I have the willpower of a gnat. I can’t do something just to do it.  I have a hard time doing something for myself because I should. I’ve quit doing things for myself. Take a look at any picture of me from high school and then look at me now. Case and point. I need a reason for it.

Soooooooooo, I’m going to run a race. For a cause. I raise awareness for something and I get healthy. Can we say win-win?! By the time I’m done training and have run the race, I’m going to enjoy running again and running will be habit.

Now I just need to find a race to run.

Thousand and thousands of people have epilepsy, including two of my cousins and my husband. Epilepsy is a cause near and dear to my heart. I’ll find, train and run a race to benefit epilepsy.

There’s a local 5k Just For the Health of It. With a name like that, it has to be run.

Here it is in black and white or whatever color it shows up as… I’m going to return to being a runner. I’m going to get healthy and raise awareness for good causes.

And that’s where my feet are taking me this year.

28 Responses to “Mamavation”

  1. Stacie March 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    You’re awesome! That’s great that you are making a decision to give yourself more of a priority. I know how hard that is, and such a big step! You can do it!

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Thanks! I’m channeling my inner little engine that could. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can. 🙂

  2. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom) March 27, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Fabulous! Run Laura, run!

    I love that running is an anywhere anytime sorta exercise. That being said, I admire your endeavor because I am not a runner… have never been though I am trying to do more sprints.

    Have a great week. What is your training plan? C25K or something else? Happy running.

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      I used to be a runner for fun back in the day…when it was a lot easier and there wasn’t so much of me to move.
      I have no idea what my training plan is. C25k is definitely on my list of things to look into.
      Thank you for the support, Andrea. It’s greatly appreciated! 🙂

  3. Megan March 27, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    You will be a runner, you are an awesome woman and I am so glad I’ve met you on Twitter.. You will run your butt off with that new treadmill

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Seriously, twitter and mamavation are amazing. I never would have met such awesome people like you if they didn’t exist!
      I’ll totally run my butt off…once the treadmill gets here! 🙂

  4. kia March 27, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    This is beautiful. Running and the running community engages in a lot of charitable causes beyond organizing a race. Don’t forget to check to see what you local running club is up to. I tag along for the ride and volunteer a good deal with mine from raising money for our food bank, environmental programs, and financial support for our Humane Society (just to name a few causes).

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 11:36 am #

      I’ll definitely have to look into local running clubs. I hadn’t heard of running clubs until I Mamavation. I’d love the support and accountability of a club, but my skill level is not very high. Once I get started, I’ll be running races all the time.
      Thank you so much for the support, Kia. It really means a lot!

  5. Nicole March 27, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    You go, Girl!

  6. Mandy Q March 27, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    It’s awesome that you love running so much, you’re a champ! Haha. I feel you exactly with the whole watermelon chest thing- it’s prett exhausting! Choosing to run a race for charity is such a great motivation! Goodluck with the run!! 🙂

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      I loved running, when it was easy. When I didn’t have so much of me to move. Then it got hard and life happened, so I took the easy way out and quit. NOT THIS TIME!!!

      Seriously, I don’t think men (cough, my husband, cough) would love big watermelon boobs if they had them. I find them to be a big pain in the neck…shoulders and back.

      Thank you for your support, Mandy. I can and will do this! 🙂

  7. sunshine & starlitwishes March 27, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Whoohoo, you rock!
    Hailey and I have taken up walking. Obviously real running doesn’t get you far when you have a three year old, but we’re taking active steps to get there.
    Walking/running for a cause is definitely a good step (ha!) in the right direction.

    http://neverwithoutgrace.tumblr.com/

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      Your corny sense of humor is just one of the reasons I totally heart you. 🙂

  8. Amanda Odair March 28, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I love your attuidue! I know you will get back to where you want to be!

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

      Thanks, Amanda! Slow and steady wins the race, but it’s sure be nice if quick and fast did the same thing! 🙂

  9. Katrina March 28, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    I’m so happy that you won that treadmill, no matter what my sulky inner brat says. I know you can do this too! If you need help, talk with the other Sistas..so many of them are training for races right now.

    PS It’s black and white..hehe

    • smallworldbiggirl March 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      No worries, I have an inner brat, too. 🙂

      Haha, good to know. I was wondering…smarty pants! 🙂

  10. Bridget March 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    That’s awesome! I hope you achieve your goal. I need motivation too, and for a moment I had it, but that moment has passed and I’m waiting for another to come around again. 🙂

    Bridget from http://www.bumluxury.blogspot.com

    • smallworldbiggirl March 29, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve got plenty to share, I’ll send some motivation your way. 🙂

  11. Pauline March 29, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    I have never been a runner and admire those who do and those who try. great cause, too. good luck!

    • smallworldbiggirl March 29, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      I think I’ll be more of a jogger than a runner. Movement is movement, right? 🙂

  12. Homemom3 March 29, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    I totally get what you are saying. I use to run in cross country and track. Over the years though I just quit. I ran in Yuma, AZ but we kept moving to bigger bases where things were further apart and I started to drive. Now I want those days back lol. I have a treadmill that I am using and I’m signing up for a run in October. Just wish there were more in my current town. I say go for it and be proud just for doing it even if you have to walk. I’ve heard a lot of ladies worry that they may end up walking but truth is we are all doing this to get fit, and that’s to be expected in my opinion. Cant’ wait to hear how you do. 🙂

    • smallworldbiggirl March 29, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      I’d love to run a whole race, but just finishing would be a HUGE accomplishment.

  13. Jenn of PersonalFitCoach.com March 29, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Congrats on winning the treadmill and setting a race goal for yourself. Looking forward to hearing about your progress.

    • smallworldbiggirl March 29, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      Thank you! I’m looking around the area for races and the pickins are pretty slim. :/ Oh well, I’ll find something. Thanks for your support! It means a lot to me! 🙂

  14. Greta March 29, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Awesome idea!! I find it’s way easier to train for something than just do it. Fear factor!!

Leave a Reply

