No- The One Word I RARELY Use

9 Mar

I’m a giver, a pleaser, a sure-I-can-do-that-even-though-I-don’t-want/have-the-time/desire-to-er. The only time I use the word no is when saying No problem! to someone when they ask me to do something. I think I have to change that today.

Every single person on this case works a weekend shift. That’s just how it is. Not a problem. Just because it’s the weekend/Christmas/a holiday doesn’t mean our job stops. 24/7 care means 24 hours a day 7 days a week. (Oh, healthcare.) We’re compensated for Saturday/Sunday shifts so it’s not all bad.

 When I first started working this case I worked every single Saturday/Sunday. I had no problem with it. I was low man on the totem pole and that’s how things work. Fine by me. A few months later I switched to Sunday and every other Saturday. Again, not a problem. In the past few months I’ve had Sundays off and either worked Friday, Saturday or both.

 My boss asked me to switch one of my shifts during the week to work Sundays. As in ALL of them.

I think I’m going to have to say no.

And I feel badly about it. I don’t want to leave the client in the lurch. I really like them. I don’t want to screw them, or their family, over.

BUT

I also have to take my sanity into consideration. And my relationship with Hubster. And the time I get to spend with my dad.

Sundays are incredibly special to me. Sunday is the day I get to go to church. I may swear a little, but I do love Jesus. Going to church means time with B. It means seeing his brothers and their wives. It means being able to watch a movie together. Or go for a walk. It means we have time TOGETHER.

It’s the ONLY 95% guaranteed day B doesn’t have to work and we get to spend more than 3 hours conscious together. Our work schedules are SO different. B is scheduled one weekend out of 8 weeks. He often picks up someone else’s Saturday to help them out and add a little extra to his paycheck. 9 times out of 10 I’m working the Saturday, too. I don’t get to spend a lot of time with B. Sundays are important for us.

My dad usually comes over Sunday afternoons to do laundry and teach me how to cook something. (To say I’m challenged in the kitchen would be a gross understatement!) My parents have recently separated, my youngest sister wants nothing to do with Dad-which is her right. She’s more than entitled to her feelings…no matter how much I disagree with them. The other two sisters are off at school and not around for Dad to hang out with. I’m the only daughter he can see in a semi-regular basis. The time he and I or Dad, B and I spend together is awesome. It’s strengthened his and my relationship and his and B’s. As important and meaningful as Sunday afternoons with Dad are to me, I can only imagine what they mean to him.

Are all those things worth a $2/hour more?

I do think so.

I’m going to say no.

I’m not low man on the totem pole anymore.

I can count on one hand the number of times I said I couldn’t come in early, or stay late, or pick up a shift, or switch a shift for a 100% valid reason.

You learn something new everyday. (Or so I’m told)

Today I’m learing to say no.

One Response to “No- The One Word I RARELY Use”

  1. Pamela March 9, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Good for you. You don’t ask for much and this time is special to you. A 100% valid reason for saying no. Do it!

Leave a Reply

