Mamavation Monday 3

31 Jan

This week I didn’t do so hot with diet and exercise. I hardly exercised Friday-Sunday and I did a fair amount of stress eating. I tried to stress eat healthy things, but munching on celery just doesn’t have the same stress fighting power as chocolate.

I keep gaining and losing the same 5 lbs. I’d LOVE to lose more than the 5 lbs and I’m glad I don’t gain more than the 5lbs. I’m glad to be maintaining instead of gaining. And I think my scale might be a little fickle. It might be time to invest in a new one.

All stress eating happened this weekend while Hubster was in the hospital after surgery. I’d like to think that a hospital of all places would have some healthier meal options in the cafeteria, but no such luck. I did manage to eat breakfast each day we were at University of Michigan…but it’s wasn’t the healthiest of things, but I could have done A LOT worse with the options I had. The doughnuts were SCREAMING my name, but I managed to resist. Woohoo!

I’m over the moon that my in-laws were able and willing to come for the surgery, but that meant constant eating out. Thursday night when we made it to Ann Arbor, we went to dinner at a Chinese buffet. (Insert ohhhhhhh sh*t here.) Due to the crappy weather, the buffet was closed, so we ordered from the menu. I switched brown rice for the white rice. The portion sizes were beyond huge so I took 80+% back with me. (Which fed Hubster and myself 2 meals each when we came back home!) I didn’t do so horrible the rest of the weekend, but I’m sure I could have done things differently. Hey, live and learn!

On the upside, my mom got a new treadmill. That means old Nordic Track was unearthed and now has a new home in our basement. Woohoo! I didn’t get a chance to break it in yet with taking care of the patient and all, but I can’t wait! I DID talk to Hubster and asked him to annoy me about using it. He had no problem saying yes to that request!

My weight remains basically the same. I’m okay with that. I’m taking steps to be healthy and that’s what matters. The numbers on the scale will change soon enough. I’m continuing to make better choices about what and how much I put in my mouth and I’m making an effort to exercise-more, better, longer. Soon enough, I won’t even have to think about it, it will just be second nature!

I hope you’re all having an excellent Monday. A bit of an oxymoron, I know, but never underestimate the power of positive thinking! 🙂

22 Responses to “Mamavation Monday 3”

  1. Marie January 31, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    That sounds like a stressful week. Hope Hubby is recovering well! Don’t think too much about last week and move forward with this week. How can you make things different? Forge a new path. Best wishes for a healthy week!

    • smallworldbiggirl January 31, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

      It was a rough week, but it’s over and this is a new one. Hubster is doing very, very well! 🙂
      I’m planning on making use of my new exercise equipment. Now that I have something, I’ll be more motivated to use it.
      Thanks! I hope you have a healthy week, too!

  2. Megan @mnmspecial January 31, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Oh hospital eating is bad, lol. Its hard to be stressed like that and make good choices, but kuddos for stearing clear of some bad stuff.

    I found that posting a scale picture every week helped me mostly lose. It also helps to take measurements. That’s where I had the most success. I took a picture of front, side, & back so I could see the change. If I hadn’t I could still pretend I was 30lbs or so lighter & lie to myself even more.

    Good luck with your workouts and eating choices. I look forward to reading how the journey goes.

    • smallworldbiggirl January 31, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

      Pictures and measurements are the next step. GULP! It’s going to be depressing to see them the first time, but seeing the changes is going to be awesome!
      Have an awesome week!

  3. Farrah January 31, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Good for you for admitting to last week but recognizing that you can choose to do the right thing. Today’s a new day and the beginning of a new week.

  4. Lena January 31, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Really hope for you to have a better week. Do what you can without overwhelming yourself. Here if you need me. @elenka29

    • smallworldbiggirl January 31, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

      Now that the surgery is over and we’re back at home, my stress level has gone down A TON! Breakfast, water intake and consistant working out are the next hurdles to come. Thanks for all the support, Lena. I really appreciate it!

  5. kia January 31, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    I hope your Hubster’s recovery is swift. You seem like you did well despite how unhealthy hospital food can be and the circumstances were. Your habits will be second nature soon.

    • smallworldbiggirl January 31, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

      Thanks for the positive reinforcement! I did okay. I could have done better, but I could have done a lot worse. It’s funny how quickly even simple food choices become second nature. 🙂

  6. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom) January 31, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Yeah, I luckily had a Nordic Track bestowed on me, too. Love it! I do need to use it more, but I will get there.

    Yeah, eating out is killer! I ordered a plain salad with grilled chicken the other week and the sodium left me feeling puffy the next day. I have decided that eating out does not fit in with my short term goals. Luckily I order plain (no sauce, butter or salt) steamed veg for my kiddos and eat the rest of theirs with rice or a plain house salad.

    Sounds like you had a healthy dose of stress this past week, so just get back into healthy eating and take care of yourself. This is the week you are going to finally kick that 5 lbs!

    • smallworldbiggirl January 31, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      Our Nordic Track is hanging out in the unfinished basement. I think I might have to move it upstairs to really motivate me.
      Eating out happens more than I’d like to admit, but thankfully we head to an organic place up the road more often than not.
      This is my week. Stress is gone, I have renewed motivation and I have exercise equipment waiting to be used. That 5 lbs is soooo gone! Thanks for the support. I REALLY appreciate it!

  7. Rebecca @AYoyoMommy January 31, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    ” I tried to stress eat healthy things, but munching on celery just doesn’t have the same stress fighting power as chocolate.”

    I could have written that myself! Wow, what a week you’ve had! I hope your Hubs is okay… The fact that you didn’t gain with all of that is really, really impressive. AND making choices like not overeating, choosing brown or white… those are big deals! Congratulate yourself for that.

    The weight loss will happen. Use the elliptical, get life back to a groove. It will happen. (hug)

    • smallworldbiggirl January 31, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      It’s been a week, but today starts a new one. Hubster is doing well. He went to work today, despite my nagging, I mean suggesting, he take it easy. That seems like a good sign.
      Hospital food and eating out are awful, but I did more than my fair share of pacing and I’m sure that helped! 🙂
      Thanks for the comment love, it makes it a lot easier to get off my duff and DO something! 🙂

  8. Carrie@FamilyFitnessFood.com January 31, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Hospitals and meals out can throw a huge wrench into healthy eating plans. Good job making some simple changes. I hope your husband recuperates quickly. Have a great week.

    • smallworldbiggirl January 31, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

      He’s doing well. Thanks for the support. I hope you have a great week yourself!

  9. Amanda February 1, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    You have such a wonderful mindset; baby steps are definitely a good approach to take. My biggest issue seems to be diving in which almost always results in me not caring/putting forth the effort after so long. “One step at a time” is my current mantra, and as hard as it is, it’s definitely going to be worth it in the long run!
    I hope your Monday was fantabulous and that your Tuesday has been twice as wonderful!

    • smallworldbiggirl February 1, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Awww! Thanks! One step at a time is a great mantra to have. Slow and steady wins the race. It’s not always fun, or easy, or gets quick results, but it gets the job done.
      Keep it up!

  10. Shelley (Momma_oz) February 1, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    so, what I’ve learned with the help of Mamavation and Pete Cohen is that stress with always be there but we can change how we deal with that. Looks like you are getting some good practice (HUGS)

    OH! BTW – While I’m here – I have given you a Stylish Blogger award! Check it out and Keep up the great posts 🙂

    • smallworldbiggirl February 1, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      THANK YOU, SHELLEY!!!!! I really appreciate it! 🙂
      Stress is ALWAYS going to be around. I’ve come to the realization that I’ve either got to deal or get over it. Much easier said than done, but I’m working on it.

  11. lorrie February 2, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    dont get discouraged just focus on the stuff you can change and good luck with you results

  12. Gena Morris February 3, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Way to go on the treadmill. Great job when you went to eat though! You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

