Mamavation Monday: Week 2, part deux

24 Jan

I had my Mamavation post all written and set for automatic post a few days ago. I linked it up not really paying attention to what it said. I just read it.

Wow, I was having a bit of a moment.

I still feel discouraged, but I’m giving myself a kick in the (flat and flabby, yes it does happen, but getting toned.) butt.  

I may have only lost 2 lbs in the entire time I’ve been working on losing weight  past two-ish weeks, but I haven’t GAINED any either.

The scale number may not be moving (It’s broken, I swear!) but my clothes are fitting better and differently.

I’ve made positive changes toward a healthier me.

– I’ve started drinking tons more water.

– I’ve cut down on the crap-tastic snacking.

-I’ve realized when I’m emotionally eating my feelings instead of dealing with them.

-I’ve made a serious effort to work out. Even when it’s the last thing I want to do.

My goal this week is to keep being positive. To keep making healthy decisions. In order to do that, there are a few things I have to get off my (well endowed and THE last place I lose poundage), chest. (Doggone genetics!)

 Screw you, Mr. Scale! I don’t really care what you have to say. I’m an independent woman and obsessively listening to what you have to say isn’t doing me any favors. So, we’re only going to talk once a week. If you’re going to talk smack, I’m going to stop listening.

And as for you Miss Emotional Eating! We’re going to be fighting A LOT this week. Hubster’s pre-op appointment and testing are tomorrow and surgery is happening Friday.  This is our first surgery. We’re nervous and we’re scared. And we’ll be spending time with the MIL while nervous and scared. (Wow, talk about a triple threat!) But we will make it through the surgery. No amount of chocolate, or vending machine snacking is going to make it any easier or go any faster. We’ll take baby steps…HEALTHY snacks and gum. Well the gum is for Mr. I’m-Stressing-And-A-Cigarette-Sounds-Amazing because he’ll be calling, but I’m just going to ignore his call.

I CAN do this. I WILL do this. I AM going to make this happen. Surgery, MILs, pity parties, sneak snack attacks, emotional eating and stubborn scales be damned!

10 Responses to “Mamavation Monday: Week 2, part deux”

  1. Farrah January 24, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Happy Monday!
    It may feel a little discouraging not to see the scale move BUT fitting clothes better and not gaining is far more important in my book! So HOORAY FOR YOU AND SCREW THAT SCALE!

    My mamavation post is here: http://farrah.tbfreviews.net/2011/01/exercise-and-eat-smart/

  2. kia January 24, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Positivity is a wonderful goal to have. When you have it I firmly believe that you are not most beautiful than you are in the moment. That outlook will help as you mold your outer appearance into your ideal. Have a great week and force that smile towards yourself if you have to. You deserve it.

    • smallworldbiggirl January 24, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      I’m trying for that elusive positivity. Negativity is so much easier to embrace in the moment…but then the moment is over and life goes on so why even bother? 🙂

  3. Kimberly @christlikemommy January 24, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    LOVE this post much more than your last! Way to go realizing what is setting you off and good for you for working on that! Emotional eating really takes a toll on me sometimes as well, but look for something else to channel those emotions into, exercise, reading, prayer… All those seem to work for me! HUGS and have a great week!

    • smallworldbiggirl January 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      Thanks. 🙂 Once I read the post over again I wondered what was so bad about life… I couldn’t come up with anything I couldn’t handle!

  4. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom) January 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Exactly! You didn’t gain… you are practicing a healthy life style. You are working towards your goal. The scale might be stubborn, but it will get there. I believe in you and am here cheering you on!

  5. Lena January 24, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I am with you – scales drive me insane!

Leave a Reply

