Patience is a virtue…that I don’t have

22 Jan

Patience. (pey-shuh ns)

–noun

1. the quality of being patient, as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like.

2. an ability or willingness to suppress restlessness or annoyance when confronted with delay: to have patience with a slow learner.

3. quiet, steady perseverance; even-tempered care; diligence: to work with patience.

Yep, check. I don’t have ANY of those definitions of patience.

Hubster, Abbey (I’m the oldest of 4 daughters. Melissa is 21, Abbey is 18 and Hannah is 15) and I had breakfast at my dad’s current place of residence. It was awkward. I didn’t know what to do/say/feel/think. And I HATE that.

 I don’t have patience for the Her Side v. His side of this separation. I’m on MY side. I will always be a part of that family, but now I have a family of my own I need to think about and take care of. And this whole thing is messing with my relationships with each of my sisters. That I DO NOT like at all. No matter what, my parents are always going to be my parents and no divorce or separation is going to change that, but it is changing how I communicate and how often I communicate with them.

I don’t have patience for the unknown. Neither one of my parents have been 100%  in the right, or wrong, in this whole thing, but I’m sick of it messing with my relationships with every single person. I’d like to be able to see in the future and know how things are going to work out so I can take steps to cultivate my relationships toward that outcome.

Seriously, there needs to be a book for this. The Oldest, Married, Adult Child’s Guide to Separation, Divorce, Family and Spouse Communication. If I don’t learn some patience soon, I’m going to end up a patient…!

Leave a Reply

