Seeing it in black in weight

21 Jan

Rachel, my bestest best friend and fellow mamavation sista, introduced me to myfitnesspal.com. Oh my word! Talk about an awesome site!

This site is alllllllll about accountability. It asks you what your current weight is, you goal weight, how much weight you want to lose per week. It gives you the amount of calories, fats, carbs and proteins you would eat, per day, to make your goal weight by losing X amount of weight per week. It gives you blanks to fill in for how much of what you ate for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. AND IT FILLS IN THE CALORIES, CARBS, FAT AND PROTEIN!

I’m definitely NOT gifted in the kitchen. Hubster and I eat out a fair amount, waaaaay more than we should. This site also has the nutritional information from restaurants.

It also has an exercise tracker. You put in how much of what you did, cardio and strength and it tells you how many calories you burned and those are EXTRA calories you could eat and still make your goals. It’s amazing. I’m so in love with myfitnesspal.com that I almost feel like I’m cheating on Hubster…

It’s up to you to input all the information. Only you know what you ate and how much.  There is a special kind of joy plugging in what I ate come in under my recommended calories. It’s easy to fudge, but really the only person you would be hurting is yourself.

This site  made me realize how much of what I was eating and what that meant calorie wise. It was kind of a wake up call. I was eating healthy(er) things, but the amount of what I was eating was the killer and I didn’t even realize it. Now I do. And I’m making decisions that are better for me.

Maybe I’m a little slow on the uptake and other people know about this site, but I HAD to share. Happy Friday and have a fabulous weekend!

2 Responses to “Seeing it in black in weight”

  1. imaginecreation January 22, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    I’ve been a member of MFP for nearly a year . . . I LOVE the site as well . . . the numbers, the numbers, SO motivating! Helps me break it down and keep it real.

    Whats your sign in name? . . . we could be friends on there . .

    • smallworldbiggirl January 22, 2011 at 2:33 am #

      It’s AH-MAY-ZIIIIIING! My sign in is lociaravino. That’s also my twitter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

