My FIRST Mamavation Monday post!

17 Jan

Here it is! My very first Mamavation Monday post.

Thursday marked the first day of me REALLY getting serious about taking better care of myself and getting into shape. (A shape other than round…I’m really good at round.)

I really started thinking about what food and how much of it I’m eating.

What I’m drinking.

Ways I can be more active.

I have some medical issues that make losing weight a little more difficult for me, but I AM NOT GIVING UP!  I’m waging war on my unhealthy habits/lifestyle and I WILL win.

I’ve started cutting out Diet Coke and drinking more water.

I’ve started moving around my house via lunges.

Milk jugs and laundry detergent have become weights.

Jumping jacks, push ups and sit ups get done during commercial breaks while watching tv.

I’ve also come to realize I’m an emotional eater.

Hubster and I went to University of Michigan to have a meet and greet with his surgeon. Hubster has petit mal epilepsy.  He has a Vegal Nerve Stimulator (VNS) implanted in his chest that goes to the part of his brain where the seizures originate and sends an electric shock every 3 minutes to try to prevent a seizure from happening, or stopping one in progress. The VNS needs to be replaced. Which means surgery. At first we were told surgery would be scheduled for 6 weeks out. It’s happening next Friday and I’m crapping my pants. Hubster has had multiple surgeries, but this is my first one. AND I’M CRAPPING MY PANTS!

Cue emotional eating!

I find myself sitting on the couch, not hungry, mindlessly eating something. And it’s usually not something healthy. My hand will be half way to my mouth and I’m wondering what the hell I’m doing. I’m not hungry, this is bad for me. Lunges to the snack cupboard and back are something, but they’re not doing me any favors!  Admitting I have a problem is the first step to fixing it!

Two down, 78 more to go!

14 Responses to “My FIRST Mamavation Monday post!”

  1. Jenn of PersonalFitCoach.com January 17, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Welcome. It’s so nice to see some new moms joining the Mamavation movement. Looking forward to getting to know you better.

    • smallworldbiggirl January 17, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Thank you! I look forward to getting to know you, too. 🙂

  2. MrsFatass January 17, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Welcome to Mamavation!

    Of all the things you said, it was both U of M and Epilepsy that really caught my attention. My brother had epilepsy surgery there in the eighties (that, at the time was EXPERIMENTAL! Holy CoW) and hasn’t had a seizure since.

    I’m sure you’ll be in very good hands there. And I’m not just saying that. I’ve walked the same halls you’ll be walking!

    So. Hang in there. I’ll be thinking of you!

  3. Lena January 17, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Great job on identifying the problem areas, now take small steps toward better you. I’d love to see you succeed one step at a time, one 5 pounds of a time. Good luck on this week

  4. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom) January 17, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Welcome and congrats on your first Mamavation Monday post! The accountability and support in this group is great.

    I can be a mindless eater also, I find that either having healthy snacks available or keeping my hands busy is my best solution. When I craft, I don’t snack. Your plans to get moving during commercial breaks is a great start. I know the Mamavation Mom hazing has really got me up and moving more.

    Surgeries scare me too! Best of luck and hope you have a fabulous week.

    • smallworldbiggirl January 17, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      Thank you! Mamavation is quite possibly the best thing ever. Someone who understands the ups and downs of weight loss and life changes is priceless.

      Crafting, what a great idea! Now that I realize I’m a stress eater, it’s a lot easier to do something else. I still catch myself going to the fridge for no reason, but now I just walk away instead of grabbing something un healthy.

      The hazing is awesome. Someone telling me what to do and how many really motivates me. And I’m sure the security guards are getting a kick of planks, pushups and jj on the security camera! 🙂

      During surgery I might need sedation of my own! Thanks for the mamavation love and support! It’s beyond appreciated. 🙂

  5. Flip Flopped Momma January 17, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Love You Lo!
    Feel free to call me while B is in surgery!
    I am sure I can find something to entertain you with!

    Next time we see each other we will look like two totally different best friends! YAY! We will out shine the plastics of KC! HaHaHa!

  6. Shelley January 17, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    I can’t begin to imagine what you are feeling but I am EXTREMELY familiar with emotional eating… I’m hugging you and will keep you in my thoughts and prayers as you travel this journey. YOU CAN DO IT! and I’m here to support in any way that I can!

    I look forward to getting to know you better as I follow you on this journey!

  7. Angela @ Nine More Months January 18, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Great goals! Cutting out Diet Coke is one of the best things you could do for yourself. I wish your husband the best in his surgery, and I’m looking forward to getting to know you better! Welcome to Mamavation!

    • smallworldbiggirl January 18, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      Thank you! Making the decisions was the easy part. It’s sticking to them is the hard part. And that’s where Mamavation comes in! Mamavation is wonderful. Thank you for making it so awesome to be a part of!

  8. lorrie January 20, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    welcome to the sistahood, are you still in michigan? I’m from southern michigan have a great week

Leave a Reply

