Thankful

15 Jan

For all the crazy, messed up things going on right now there are a few people I know I can count on. This is a shout out to two of those people.
This holiday season has been less than joyous. Between my health, my meds, my family and various Christmas celebrations with all parts of extended families Christmas this year has made me want to curl up in a ball and cry. When I wasn’t crying, I was probably screaming at/to Brian about something/someone completely out of his control.

AND HE’S BEEN FABULOUS! I mean, beyond amazing, rock-freaking-solid, more than I could ever dream of, shoulder to cry on, hugs me just because, cuddle on the couch, rub my back, LET ME WATCH CHICK FLICKS WHEN SPORTS WERE ON amazing.

Not that Brian isn’t typically amazing and awesome, he’s just been going above and beyond anything I ever dreamed.

I had a lot of trouble deciding what I wanted to do for Christmas, and if I even wanted to do Christmas, with my family. My parents’ separation has really thrown me and it’s affecting EVERY aspect of my life with each member of the family in different ways.
Brian always left it up to me what we did. He helped me see the pros and cons of each possible situation. He told me it was my comfort level that mattered. He said he would be there no matter what. And he was.

My meds have been screwing with my system HARDCORE. The holidays were spent kneeling or sitting on/in front of the toilet. Brian got me crackers, Sprite, The Puke Bowl and anything and everything I could have needed- at our house, in the car, at the place formerly known as my parent’s house, in the car again, at his parent’s house, at his grandparent’s house, everywhere. He knows my I’m Don’t Feel Well face and does everything in his power to help in any way he knows possible.

I met Brian four years ago while home from school on Christmas break. He proposed three Christmases (Christmasi?) ago. His birthday is Christmas day. Brian is by far the best Christmas present I’ve EVER gotten.

Oh, Rachel. I don’t even know where to being. Rachel, aka my bff and mother extraordinaire, and I met in middle school. We became friends partly because we’re SO  much a like it’s scary and because we’re pretty freaking awesome.

Rachel was my friend and confidante all through middle school, when a real, solid friend is the best thing a girl could ask for. She got me through. I really don’t know what I would have done without her!

Fast forward to adulthood. Rachel has been there for me through boy troubles, school, moves, meeting/dating/marrying Brian, my health issues, infertility,  Brian’s health issues, family spats, my parents separation, and any and all times I’ve needed a laugh or a shoulder to cry on.  I really wish I could clone her because everyone deserves a phenomenal friend like her! She’s my fourth sister.

I am beyond thankful and blessed to have these two people in my life.  My world is a little brighter because these two are in it. Thank you for being who you are!

2 Responses to “Thankful”

  1. Flip Flopped Momma January 16, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    I LOVE YOU LO! 🙂 This blog post just made me cry & miss you even more!

    • smallworldbiggirl January 16, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      I hope it brought something nice to your day. I’m super thankful for you!

Leave a Reply

